Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Thane Police Commissionerate is a unique Police Unit. It is perhaps the only one of its kind in India as Thane Police Commissionerate comprises of four Municipal Corporations (Thane, Bhiwandi, Ulhasnagar, and Kalyan-Dombivali) and two Muncipal Councils (AMBARNATH and Badlapur) and a number of small villages. The city Mumbai, the financial capital of India is bordering Thane. Another most developed city like Navi Mumbai is its immediate neighbour. The Central and Western Railway tracks go through Thane. One of the most important Railway Junctions like Kalyan passes through the heart of Thane.
A communally sensitive place like Bhiwandi also falls in this commissionerate. The National Highway No.(3) Mumbai-Agra. goes through it and Ghodbandar Road which starts from Thane joins Mumbai-Ahmadabad Road No.(8). Almost one dozen Railway Stations are busy round the clock in and around Thane.

Thane city consists of important Industrial belts like Thane, Dombiwali, Bhivandi, Ambarnath and Badlapur. Power loom Industry in Bhiwandi runs during nights and the town never sleeps. Ulhasnagar where more than 80% population is Sindhi would be an ideal research place for a student of Sindology. Mumbra is another highly communally sensitive place, where at any given time within half an hour a mob of 30 to 50 thousand people can easily gather and come on the road providing a challenge to the law enforcing authorities.

Though Thane is not located on the sea-shore, the large number of creeks of Arabian Sea that flow within this commissionerate pose serious security challenges for the police. Nagla Bunder is one of the important ports on the coast lines of these creeks. Haji Malang/Malang Gad, Durgadhi Fort, Temple of Lord Shiva at Khidakaleshwar and Ambarnath are famous ancient religious places; these and the Indian Ordnance Factory at Ambarnath are within Thane jurisdiction.

Thane Police Commissionerate was a part of Thane Rural Police District till 1981. In order to effectively deal with the complexities of the security concerns the Government had to create Thane Police Commissionerate in May 1981.

Thane Police Commissionerate covers 571.27 sq.KM. of area and a population of about 7 million. This Commissionerate consists of 5 Zones, 10 Divisions and 33 Police Stations and is headed by a Police Commissioner who is of the rank of Addl. D.G.P. To assist him there is one Jt. Commissioner, four Addl. Commissioners, 10 Deputy Commissioners and 26 Asst. Commissioners of Police. Besides, there are 128 Police Inspectors, 153 Asst. Police Inspectors, 207 Police Sub-Inspectors and the strength of about 5500 police men.

Home | Hall of Fame | Welfare Activities | Crime Statestics | FAQ's | Important Contacts   |
©2016. All Rights Reserved.
Designed & Developed by Khoj Infotech